Effective January 1, 2015, Ohio has raised minimum wage requirements. Now, Ohio employers grossing at least $297,000.00 per year must pay minimum wages to non-tipped employees of $8.10 per hour and tipped employees $4.05 per hour plus tips. (Tipped employees are those who “engage in an occupation in which he/she customarily and regularly receives more than $30.00 per month in tips”).
Smaller businesses grossing under $297,000 per year, and those with employees under the age of 16 are required to pay the lower federal minimum wage of $7.25 per hour.
All employers subject to Ohio’s minimum wage must prominently display a current 2015 minimum wage notice. The free poster can be downloaded at: http://www.com.ohio.gov/documents/dico_2015MinimumWageposter.pdf
For any questions relating to this new law, or for any of your other employment law questions, contact us today.
"*" indicates required fields
At Lardiere McNair, we recognize that we are here to provide more than just quality legal service to our clients.